Colour Coding your Planner

I have covered my colour coding method in my setup blog post which you can read here, but I wanted to give you a more in-depth look about how I use my planner pages, in particular different colour-coding systems.

IMG_3562

I use Filofax Cotton Cream week on two pages inserts (personal size). I recently switched to these as I was finding I needed more space to write my weekend to-dos.

My Planning Routine

Every Sunday I sit down and fill in all of the important information I need to add for the following week. I also write down any tasks which occur every week, for example food shopping, meal planning and cleaning.

Once I’ve waited for my ink to dry (otherwise the highlighter smudges the black pen) I highlight each task or note in the following colours:

Me – anything to do with my hobbies, personal life etc. for example crocheting, Filofax stuff, blog posts, meeting up with friends

Hubby – change to his normal work hours (I don’t write all of his work hours in my Filofax as they are usually the same routine, I just write them down if they’re different to what he usually works) and anything else related to hubby e.g. deliveries or important dates he wants me to write down. 

Medical – I have to take a weekly dose of MTX which is not in my normal pill case as it can’t be handled. I write down every Saturday that I need to remember to take it and the dosage as its gradually being increased. I also write down when I need to re-order any medication and write it next to food shopping so we can do this at the same time. 

To-Do and Chores – any to-dos that are not personal related, for example things I need to do around the house like cook the dinner or put washing away, empty the dishwasher or bins. I also highlight cleaning, washing, food shopping and meal planning in this colour.

Special Dates – birthdays, anniversaries, weddings etc. are all highlighted in pink. 

I did try other ways to colour code but they just didn’t work for me. I used Staedler highlighters in bright colours but it was just too much for me!

IMG_3563

I also tried a more subtle approach of using Stabilo fine liners and drawing little bullet points next to each item as a colour code, but I didn’t like this either, I thought it looked scruffy and wasn’t very clear.

IMG_3564

And so I went back to my trusty Frixion pastel highlighters. Ideally I would have liked more colours, and I thought they sold an orange one but I ordered it from Jet Pens and when it arrived it appeared what I thought was yellow is in fact orange… Fail!

I find it’s really easy to see what I need to do in a day and how much of it is chores vs. my own free time that I can use to do something creative. The more purple, the better!

I hope this has inspired you to try your own colour coding methods, please feel free to share in the comments section!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Colour Coding your Planner

  1. Suus S says:

    Love the post! Thank you for sharing.
    I am always looking for a very simple way to color code in the planner. I have always done that, but I find my way a little dificult. I like how you do it. Maybe I can find a middle way with you idea’s and my coding.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Barbara says:

    I totally “stole“ your colour coding system after reading your setup post… 😉 It works perfectly for me, too! I also tried the bullet points method before and didn’t get along with it. Now I highlight certain entries with my Frixion Highlighters just like you and am finally at peace with my colour coding. So… Thank you!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lyn says:

    I think I’m going to try your color-coding system. I like it because it’s not too complicated and I also like the pastel highlighters from JetPens! I also scrolled through the rest of your blog and “followed” so I will receive notification of new posts. I live in the States, but my dream is to plan a trip to UK within the next five years or so. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

